User Experience & Marketing Efficiency

Website User Experience (UX) is arguably the most critical aspect of customer conversion. The impact of implementing and exploring conversion strategies like UX is essential for managing your brand’s marketing efficiency and bottom-of-funnel success in the long term.

Why is UX marketing essential for conversion rate optimisation (CRO)?

Implementing UX marketing strategies allow brands to deliver an optimised user experience for customers. To increase the impact of UX, brands need to ensure that CRO is at the centre of website UX considerations. Creating a seamless purchase experience for your brand’s customers can ultimately improve conversions, as shown by the formula below.
The impact of increased conversions from UX marketing on revenue.

Revenue is equal to; total sessions multiplied by conversion rate. Assigning a dollar value to it shows that doubling the conversion rate doubles revenue – even if the number of visitors and median order spend to stay the same.

10 x 1 x $100 = $1000
10 x 2 x $100 = $2000

We can see that improving conversion rates remain the most cost-effective way to get improved results without extra expenditure on other marketing activities, like paid ads.

So, doubling the conversion rate will also benefit your profit margin. Profit is revenue minus cost. This simply means that improved UX efficiency can lead to a lower variable cost that will increase your profit margin by increasing revenue.

Profit from doubled revenue through UX marketing efficiency.
Increasing conversion rates is only a tiny part of what UX marketing can achieve. Improving customer satisfaction is an additional benefit of investing in UX marketing. A straightforward purchasing experience without roadblocks is the key to reaching this goal, but how do we know if your UX marketing strategy is working for an audience? Let’s start with approaching UX.

Implementing UX marketing for conversion rate optimisation

UX marketing can involve a platform re-design or be as simple as making minor optimisations to create major impacts on CRO. Below we highlight ways to improve website user experience and prioritise customer retention.

Prioritising mobile UX

We know over half of all online shopping occurs on mobile, with 79% of smartphone users purchasing on the device over the last 6 months. However, the average conversion rate across eCommerce websites on mobile is 2.2%, with desktop conversions reaching 3.7%. This is because many users will research and abandon the cart on mobile when in the consideration stage, but will transition to desktop when making the actual purchase.

Optimising mobile UX to increase retention in those early funnel stages is essential when improving UX efficiency. Therefore, when you begin testing your website UX, make sure mobile is tested first as this is usually the first point of contact you will have with your awareness audience.

Removing Pain Points

A website that is easy to understand and navigate allows users to research and buy without any pain points. Removing pain points – annoying or irrelevant website features that negatively impact user experience – is the foundation of UX marketing and a good place to start when analysing your current website experience. Through this, customers can discover new products and services without any roadblocks, thus making the purchase journey more enjoyable.

UX efficiency for the entire marketing mix

Your UX marketing strategy can benefit the efficiency of your entire marketing mix. If other marketing activities are working hard to bring interested individuals to your website, and it doesn’t have optimised UX, your marketing spend is going to waste.

Adding value to your marketing mix through UX can also improve your Marketing Efficiency Ratio (MER) throughout the year. When revenue doubles and total ad spend stays the same, MER will continue doubling because UX optimisation increases conversions and revenue, improving the value of all marketing materials.

The impact of UX marketing on improving the Marketing Efficiency Ratio (MER).
By prioritising website UX for your brand, conversions from already interested audiences can occur without further dipping into the marketing budget.

Approaching UX

Approaching UX involves understanding the gaps and opportunities on your brand’s website. At Reload, we know that delving deep into a website’s UX can significantly impact CRO, especially when visitors and average order value are already high. It is important to remember that double your revenue can automatically double your conversion rate, so delving into your UX sooner rather than later is best.

Practically, it will be necessary to do an initial UX audit to understand the improvements your website needs. This audit should be in-depth and tap into the customer experience for each of the funnel stages and, will need to make sure that customer goals can be achieved easily and efficiently, which also boosts the conversion rate in the long term.

If you are unsure where to start, Reload has quite a few marketing specialists that are passionate about UX and conversion rate success.

Get Reload UX experts on your side.

If increasing conversion rates through UX testing and implementation is your goal, Reload can help. Contact us to get a team of UX specialists on your side!